Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Text Size

  • Malden High graduates 446 at Macdonald Stadium

    Friday, June 09, 2017 00:00
  • Residents in favor of RCN coming to city

    Friday, August 25, 2017 08:53
  • Sergio Cornelio unanimously appointed City Clerk

    Saturday, August 05, 2017 09:22
  • DeRuosi’s Report Card

    Friday, August 04, 2017 10:24
  • Help choose the next Malden Reads 2018 book selection!

    Friday, June 09, 2017 00:00

Lynnfield Art guild announces awards, prizes for annual Spring Art Show



On Saturday, May 20, the annual spring fine arts and crafts judged show of the Lynnfield Art Guild (LAG), featured over 150 paintings and photographs by talented local artist-members. Judges Bruce Hilliard, Dawn Mahoney and Heidi Zander gave out the awards. Best in Show for the pastel “Down the Path” went to Peter Cain. Mary Kelly’s watercolor “Key West Bungalow” won the Summertime Fun theme award. Also, judge’s choice awards were given to Jeannette Corbett for her painting “Morning Calm – Abruzzi,” to Louise Anderson for her painting “Rocky Shore” and to Donna Barnes for her acrylic painting “Shedding of the Crystal Shells.” The Wakefield Co-operative Bank’s special $100 cash prize was awarded to Maya Jacobs for the watercolor “Bath Time,” and the Co-op Bank’s $50 student prize was awarded to Zoe Chen for her pencil drawing “All Smiles.” The people’s choice award went to Audrey DiPillo for her watercolor “Berkshire Retreat.”

Additional awards were as follows: in the watercolor category a first place to Lorraine O’Brien for “Searching,” a second place to Donna Barnes for “Artful” and a third place to Jeannette Corbett for “Nightcap at Saratoga Races.” In the Oil/Acrylics/Mixed Media category, a first prize was awarded to Jeannette Corbett for “Morning Calm – Abruzzi,” and a second and third to James Ryan for “In For Repairs” and “Nor’easter.” The photography/digital media category resulted in the judge’s selections of “Harsh Light at Black Beach” by Michael Nichols (first), “Monet’s Garden in Giverny” by Mary Lynch (second) and “Botany of Desire” by Philip Hermann (third). In the miscellaneous (pen & ink, pencil, pastel) category the awards went to Peter Cain for “Down the Path” (first), to Donna Barnes for “Shedding of the Crystal Shells” (second) and to Shaila Desai for her pastel painting “Waves” (third). Honorable mentions went to the following artists: Donna Barnes, “Flower Triptych”; Peter Cain, “The Wave”; Shaila Desai, “Golden Sunset”; Bill Deveney, “The Right Place”; Joyce Fukasawa, “Precious”; Maya Jacob, “Coming and Going”; Lorraine O’Brien, “Buddy and Me” and James Ryan, “A Brooksby Winter.”

Student prizes were awarded to Marianne Oliveri for her multimedia “Coexist” (first), Zoe Chen for “All Smiles” (second) and Ava Figucia for her acrylic “Untitled” (third). An Honorable Mention went to Emma Rocco for her acrylic painting “Sinatra.”

LAG thanks all the artists, supporters, patrons and visiting public who made this show such a wonderful success.

Login Form