Everett,  November 2 2018

Everett is ready to vote

Everett is ready to vote


Everett voters will join the rest of the state on Tuesday, November 6 in the midterm elections. A little over four percent of the city’s electorate have already performed their civic duty, however, using the city’s early voting program.

According to the Election Commission, about 900 voters have already cast their ballots since the beginning of early voting on October 22, with about 200 votes coming since Tuesday.

With 20,642 registered voters in the City of Everett, that’s already 4.3 percent of the vote.

Today (Friday, November 2) is the last day of early voting for the City of Everett. The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 12 noon on the third floor of City Hall in the Keverian Room (note: only the parking lot entrance will be open).

Otherwise, voters will have to join the rest of the state on Election Day, Tuesday, November 6, when the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Polling locations are as follows:

  Ward 1 Prec. 1 Armory, 90 Chelsea Street

  Ward 1 Prec. 2 Parlin Library, 410 Broadway

  Ward 2 Prec. 1 Keverian School, 20 Nichols Street

 Ward 2 Prec. 2 Keverian School, 20 Nichols Street

 Ward 3 Prec. 1 Community Center, 21 Whittier Drive

 Ward 3 Prec. 2 Recreation Center Building, 47 Elm Street

 Ward 4 Prec. 1 Lafayette School, Edith Street, enter from Bryant Street

 Ward 4 Prec. 2 Glendale Towers, Ferry Street

 Ward 5 Prec. 1 English School, 105 Woodville Street

 Ward 5 Prec. 2 City Hall, Keverian Room, Third Floor, 484 Broadway

 Ward 6 Prec. 1 English School, 105 Woodville Street

 Ward 6 Prec. 2 City Services Building, 19 Norman Street


Everett made its most important local choice in September, when State Rep. Joseph McGonagle defeated challengers Gerly Adrien and Stat Smith in the Democratic Primary. Because no Republican is running for the seat, McGonagle is all but assured to win re-election Tuesday. Everett voters will still have a number of statewide decisions to make with the rest of the state, however.

Appearing on the state ballot Tuesday will be:


U.S. Senate

Elizabeth Warren, Democrat – Incumbent since Jan. 3, 2013, former Chairman of the Congressional Oversight Panel, former professor at Harvard University Law School and named Bostonian of The Year by The Boston Globe in 2009.

Geoff Diehl, Republican –Seventh Plymouth State Representative, Eagle Scout, Illinois State Scholar, member of the South Shore and Metro South Chambers of Commerce, former member of the Whitman Finance Committee and By-Law Review Committee.

Shiva Ayyadurai, Independent – Scientist and entrepreneur. Holds four degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.



Charlie Baker, Republican – Incumbent since Jan. 8, 2015, former Secretary of Administration and Finance, former Secretary of Health and Human Services under Governor William Weld and former member of the Swampscott Board of Selectmen.

Jay Gonzalez, Democrat – Former Secretary of Administration and Finance under Governor Deval Patrick, former Chairman of the Massachusetts Board of Early Education and Care and former Chief Executive Officer of CeltiCare Health Plan and New Hampshire Healthy Families.


Lieutenant Governor

Karyn Polito, Republican – Incumbent since Jan. 8, 2015, former State Representative for the 11th Worcester District, former member of the Shrewsbury Board of Selectmen and former member of the Massachusetts Lottery Commission.

Quentin Palfrey, Democrat – Co-Director of the Global Access in Action project at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University, former Executive Director of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab, former Senior Advisor for Jobs and Competitiveness under President Barack Obama and former state Assistant Attorney General.


Attorney General

General Maura Healey, Democrat – Incumbent since Jan. 21, 2015, former Special Assistant District Attorney for Middlesex County and former Chief of the Business and Labor Bureau under Attorney General Martha Coakley.

James McMahon III, Republican – 30 years’ experience in general practice, member of the Bourne Republican Town Committee and former member the Massachusetts Army National Guard.


Secretary of State

William Galvin, Democrat – Incumbent since Jan. 1, 1995, and former State Representative for Allston-Brighton.

Anthony Amore, Republican – Director of Security and Chief Investigator at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

Juan Sanchez, Green-Rainbow Party – LGBT Outreach Coordinator for WestMass ElderCare.



Deborah Goldberg, Democrat – Incumbent since Jan. 21, 2015, member of the Neighborhood Conservation District Commission in Brookline, former President of the Board of Directors of Adoptions With Love and former member of the Greater Boston Food Bank Advisory Board.

Keiko Orrall, Republican – Represents the 12th Bristol District and former member of the Lakeville Finance Committee.

Jamie Guerin, Green-Rainbow Party – Activist for peace as well as economic, social and environmental justice.



Suzanne Bump, Democrat Incumbent since Jan. 19, 2011, and former State Representative for the Fifth Norfolk District.

Helen Brady, Republican – Sales and Business Director for the Boston Pops.

Daniel Fishman, Libertarian – Senior Software Architect for Frontline Education.

Edward Stamas, Green-Rainbow Party – Science teacher and former producer and host of the Freedom Files.


U.S. Representative –Seventh Congressional District

Ayanna Pressley, Democrat – Boston City Councillor-at-Large. Former staffer for U.S. Rep. Joseph Kennedy and U.S. Senator John Kerry.


Governor’s Council – Sixth District

Terrence Kennedy, Democrat – incumbent since 2010, former Assistant District Attorney in Norfolk and Middlesex Counties and former member of Lynnfield Board of Appeals.

Vincent Lawrence Dixon, Unenrolled (has previously run as a Republican) – Historian, and tour guide with Cambridge Advantage Tour Service.


State Representative – 28th Middlesex District

Joseph McGonagle, Jr., Democrat – incumbent since 2015, former Everett City Councillor.


Middlesex District Attorney

Marian Ryan, Democrat – incumbent since 2013. Former longtime Middlesex prosecutor.


Clerk of Courts

Michael Sullivan, Democrat – incumbent since 2007. Former Mayor of Cambridge.


Register of Deeds – Middlesex Southern District

Maria Curtatone, Democrat – incumbent since 2013.


Ballot Questions

Question 1 – Safe Nursing Staffing Limits

The proposed law would limit the number of patients that could be assigned to each registered nurse in Massachusetts hospitals and other health care facilities, the actual limit depending on the kind of facility or face. Supporters say it is a necessary measure to prevent hospitals from cutting corners by spreading the nurses on staff too thin by assigning them to too many patients. Opponents say that it will be a burdensome cost to hospitals. A yes vote would put the new limits in place, while a no vote would result in no changes to the law.


Question 2 – Citizen’s Commission on corporate money in politics

Question 2 would create a citizen’s commission that would consider and recommend potential amendments to the United States Constitution to establish that corporations do not have the same Constitutional rights as human beings and that campaign contributions and expenditures may be regulated. A yes vote would create this commission, while a no vote would not create the commission.


Question 3 – Trans rights referendum

Question 3 is a referendum on existing antidiscrimination protections for transgender individuals under state law which adds gender identity to the list of prohibited grounds for discrimination in places of public accommodation. A yes vote would keep the current protections in place, while a no vote would repeal these protections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *