December 07 2018,  Lynnfield,  Lynnfield Sports,  Sports

Lynnfield football coach Pat Lamusta honors individuals for outstanding contributions on the gridiron at annual team banquet

By Joe Mitchell


Lynnfield High School football coach Pat Lamusta held his first end-of-the-season team banquet Monday night, Dec. 3, and throughout the usual festive event he gave out awards to this year’s worthy recipients, while providing a comment on the reasoning behind the process.

Bakari Mitchell took home the Scout Team Player of the Year Award. “Bakari is a sophomore, who really chipped in at practice. He is talented, and has a bright future with our team,” said Lamusta.

Salvatore Marotta was the team’s unsung hero as he was a senior who was willing to play any position to help the team win. He’s a very coachable player, always wanting to improve, according to Lamusta.

Cory Castinetti was the recipient of the 12th player award. “[Cory] is a senior, who played with a ton of heart. He may not have been a starter or big in the stat book, but he was always about the team, and contributed immensely on special teams,” said the coach.

Harry Drislane was the winner of the Commitment Award. “[Harry} is a senior, who was the driving force behind our momentum in the off-season. He was always the type of player, who pushed his teammates to work harder,” said Lamusta.

Senior Marc Cooper was chosen for the Courage Award after going through some difficult times this year, but he always rallied and made time for the team,” said the first-year football coach.

The Gutso Award went to John Lee, and Lamusta said that “this is a defensive statistic-based award, and John, a junior, found himself hawking the ball all over the field this year. He’s a tremendous defensive player for us.”

Captain Hunter Allain received multiple awards earlier this week, including the Coaches Award, the Lynnfield High School Scholar Athlete Award, the LPFC Scholar-Athlete Award and the Wakefield Co-op Scholar of the Year Award.

Lamusta simply said of his star captain, “[Hunter is] a senior captain, who we as coaches could really lean on to be the keystone of our team to lead us into battle week after week. He’s also a tremendous [student], who exemplifies what we want from our players off the field and in the classroom.”

Leo Quinn was the Specials Teams Player of the Year. “{Quinn] is a senior captain, whose skills as a snapper were absolutely crucial to our special teams play this year,” said Lamusta.

Junior Liam Farrell is the lineman of the year, because of his awesome attitude, according to the coach. “He plays physical, and blocks until the whistle,” he added.

Junior quarterback Clayton Marengi is the offensive player of the year. Clayton is athletic, poised and able to make a big play at any moment. He really drove the offense this year, said the coach.

Captain Cole Moretti accounted for the defensive player of the year award. “He’s a bastion of strength for us in the middle of the defensive line, who really wore down opponents’ offensive lines,” said Lamusta.

Jaret Simpson is the Team MVP. “As a senior captain, he was a pleasure to have on the team. He led by example, while playing excellent on defense. He always ran tough on offense. We were all inspired by Simpson, and how he pulled through this year. He’s really just an awesome guy on top of being a great athlete,” said the coach.

Lynnfield’s first-team Cape Ann League all-stars were: sophomore wide receiver Jack Ford, and junior offensive lineman Liam Farrell. Those making honorable mention were senior defensive tackle Cole Moretti, senior linebacker Jaret Simpson, junior quarterback Clayton Marengi and junior defensive back John Lee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *