en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

Election field swells to 50 candidates

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

  With the city election four months away, there are now 50 candidates running for office. Within that figure, 16 of them are incumbents who will square off against the remaining 37 challengers.

  City Clerk Sergio Cornelio said that so far this year the number of candidates taking out nomination papers is 10 percent higher compared to the 2019 election. “There will be a few that will withdraw, as we have already seen, and a few that won’t pass the papers back in, but the majority will make the ballot,” he said.

  In addition to it being a mayoral election year, Cornelio said this will be the city’s first time using the ward-only voting format.

  “Given that there are many contested races, we should have around 5,000 people vote in the Preliminary and 7,500 vote in the General Election,” he said.

  In the mayoral race, Ward 1 Councillor Fred Capone and Councillor-at-Large Gerly Adrien will challenge Mayor Carlo DeMaria for the corner office at City Hall.

  This year, there are currently 26 candidates, including eight incumbents, running for City Council. In the race for councillor-at-large, Councillors Richard Dell Isola, John Hanlon and Michael Marchese are facing 11 challengers. They include Angelmarie DiNunzio, James Mastrocola, Stephanie Smith, James LaVecchio, Allen Panarese, Irene Cardillo and Guerline Alcy.

  “It’s a healthy thing that people are interested in running for office,” said City Council President Wayne Matewsky. “It’s a very active election year in Everett.”

  However, with Capone running for mayor, Matewsky has found himself in an unfamiliar position as the lone candidate for Ward 1. “In over 24 elections I’ve never been unopposed,” he said.

  Councillor Stephanie Martins is also running without opposition to retain her seat in Ward 2.

  In Ward 3, Councillor Anthony DiPierro will face off against challenger Darren Costa. “Everett is a city on the move and its best days are ahead under the leadership of Mayor DeMaria. It’s no surprise to see so many residents getting involved and showing their desire to serve in local government,” said DiPierro. “I’ve always said public service is a concrete way to give back to your community. I’ve worked hard to be a voice of reason on the City Council and ensure that the needs of my constituents are being met by City Hall. Serving in local government is a great honor and I hope to continue to serve this community for many years to come.”

  In Ward 4, Councillor Jimmy Tri Le will have his hands full as he faces challenges from Mastrocola, Benjamin Murray and Holly Garcia.

  The Ward 5 race will feature a rematch from 2019 between Councillor Rosa DiFlorio and challenger Vivian Nguyen.

  Ward 6 residents will be getting a new councillor as Al Lattanzi squares off against Ross Pietrantonio.

  In the race for School Committee, there are 17 challengers taking on seven incumbent members. The member-at-large race currently includes Members Cynthia Sarnie and Samantha Lambert taking on challenges from Margaret Cornelio, Robert Santacroce, Berardino D’Onofrio, Jenny Montresor and Joseph LaMonica. LaMonica is also seeking reelection in Ward 2, where he is being challenged by Jason Marcus and Caitlin Steinberg.

  In addition, Millie Cardello will be leaving her post as member-at-large to run for the Ward 1 seat, which is being vacated by Panarese. Other candidates in that race include Margaret Cornelio, Joanne Parris and Desirae Peary.

  Ward 6 will also be hotly contested as Vice-Chairman Thomas Abruzzese takes on challenges from Renee Solano, Catherine Tomassi Hicks and Michael McLaughlin, who will vacate his position as Ward 6 councillor

  Residents can expect new representation in Ward 3 as Chairman Frank Parker has decided not to seek reelection. The three candidates now vying for that seat include Santacroce, Jeanne Cristiano and Samantha Hurley.

  In Ward 4, Member Dana Murray will face challenger Michael Mangan while Montresor will run against Member Marcony Almeida Barros in Ward 5.

  Looking ahead, July 21 is the last day that candidates can take out nomination papers. The final list of candidates will be posted by 10 a.m. on August 9. The Preliminary Election will be held on September 21 and the General Election will be held on November 2.

Contact Advocate Newspapers