en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

Fire Department Promotions and Swearing-In Ceremony

Fire Department Promotions-2
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

  Mayor Gary Christenson and Fire Commissioner Emery Haskell presided over a promotional and swearing in ceremony officially welcoming Fire Chief Stephen Froio to the Fire Department following the retirement of Chief William Sullivan this past April. The ceremony took place at City Hall on the Desmond Deck. Also in attendance were Ward 6 Councillor Stephen Winslow, Ward 8 Councillor Jadeane Sica and Ward 5 Councillor/City Council President Barbara Murphy.

  “I’m especially pleased to officially welcome Chief Steve Froio to the Department,” said Mayor Christenson. “He has hit the ground running and I look forward to working with him as we continue to move the Department forward.”

  Captains Keith Buchanan and James Dockery were promoted to Deputy Chief; Lieutenants Sean Cadigan and Richard Smith were promoted to Captain; Firefighters Derrick Power, Eric Savage and Devon Perry were promoted to Lieutenant. Firefighters Nicholas Rodriguez, Jared Downey, Brian Hoff and George Mazzeo were officially welcomed to the Department.

  Chief Froio offered remarks and Commissioner Haskell invited family members to officially pin the promoted officers and new members. City Clerk Carol Ann Desiderio took the oaths and swore in the officers. The promotions and new hires are the result of retirements.

Contact Advocate Newspapers