en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

Malden Junior Aid Association elects officers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Malden Junior Aid Association elected officers during last Wednesday’s Annual Dinner and Installation of New Officers at Bellevue Golf Club.

Junior Aid is dedicated to raising funds for charitable organizations and programs. Founded in 1912, it was originally known as the “Junior Aid Association of the Malden Hospital.” At that time, the main objective was to render volunteer services to the hospital and provide financial assistance through fundraising. Although no longer affiliated with a hospital, Junior Aid continues to support many programs that align with its mission of assisting those in need with a primary focus on women, children and health-related issues.

Pictured from left to right during last Wednesday’s Junior Aid installation of officers at Bellevue Golf Club: Back row: Incoming Vice President/Past Auditor Helen Kipnis, Past President Barbara LaMatinna and Christopher Rodrigues; front row: Saugus resident Traci Rodrigues, Michael Griffin, Outgoing President Toni Griffin and Malden resident/Zonta Club President Joanne Stroud.
Malden residents, pictured from left to right: Front row: Linda Correnti, Past President/Event Chair Deborah DeMaria and Past Presidents Patti Riley and Mary Jo Koizumi; back row: Malden residents Cathy MacDonald, Angela Smith, Carol Flanagan and Patricia Finegan.
Pictured from left to right: Back row: Alaina Coppola, Erin Punch, Malden native Karen Holden and Forestdale School Asst. Principal Karie Carpenito; front row: Hinna Sherwani, Malden native/Incoming President Susan Higgins, member Jaclyn Rosa and Diane Tarana.
Seated, pictured from left to right: Ariana Taylor, Past President Mary Ann Cutler, Chrissy Keenan, Mary Doucette; standing: Michelle Bucci Luong, Past President Maria Luise, Tewedaj Gebreselassie and Outgoing Vice President Kathleen Manning Hall.
Pictured from left to right: Front row: Dawn Zanazzo, Patricia Staples, Casey McDougall, Megan Caplan and Past President Mary Beth Leon; back row: Ward 1 Councillor Peg Crowe, Ward 5 Councillor Barbara Murphy, Ashley Bratsis and Terry Bratsis.
Outgoing officers and board members, shown from left to right: Mary Doucette, Mary Ann Cutler, Toni Griffin, Kathleen Manning Hall, Paula Higgins, Susan Higgins, Mary Jo Koizumi, Kelly Yin, Helen Kipnis, Maria Luise, Deborah Hardy. Not present: Stephanie DeCristoforo.
Cambridge Health Alliance Foundation Development Associate Kelly Simone accepted a grant from outgoing Malden Junior Aid Association President Toni Griffin on behalf of the Association.
Cheverus Catholic School Counselor Megan Caplan accepted a grant from Malden Junior Aid.
Teacher Ashley Bratsis of the Forestdale School Drama Club accepted a grant from Toni Griffin.
Housing Families Inc. Clinical Director Elizabeth Kia said HFI will use the grant money to buy a van.
Malden Kiwanis Club President-Elect Dawn Fitzgerald accepted a grant. The Kiwanis Club will host “Bubbles and Books” on Saturday, June 4, at Miller Park.
Malden Overcoming Addiction Treasurer Dawn Zanazzo accepted grant money.
MelroseWakefield Healthcare Community Outreach Specialist Karen Andrews accepted a grant.
Outgoing Vice President Kathleen Manning Hall presented Outgoing President Toni Griffin with an appreciation award.
Stewart Elementary School First Grade Teacher Tricia Truhart accepted a grant from Malden Junior Aid.
These members received perfect attendance for the 2021-2022 year – pictured from left to right: Kelly Yin, Eleanor Kenney, Paula Higgins and Toni Griffin.
Audience members gave a standing ovation to Incoming President Susan Higgins.
Incoming President Susan Higgins and Toni Griffin
Susan Higgins accepted the position of president.
Incoming officers of Malden Junior Aid Association, pictured from left to right: Top row: Recording Secretary Mary Doucette, Treasurer Kelly Yin, Press Secretary Eleanor Kenney, President Susan Higgins, Vice President Helen Kipnis, Auditor Traci Rodrigues, Purchasing Agent Cathy MacDonald and Corresponding Secretary Paula Higgins; front row: Counselor Deborah Hardy, Counselor Toni Griffith and Mary Jo Koizumi.

Contact Advocate Newspapers