en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

MVRCS Eagles hold post-season awards ceremony

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

  The Athletics Department at Mystic Valley Regional Charter School (MVRCS) recently celebrated its 13 varsity sports at its post-season awards ceremony. The event, which was broken into two segments to ensure proper indoor social distancing, featured speeches by school leadership as well as the head coaches. The 2020-2021 athletics year at MVRCS was anything but conventional, and Athletics Director Jonathan Currier praised each student-athlete, their families and the coaching staff for their resilience and ability to adapt and overcome the adversity and challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

  The 2020-2021 season featured a great deal of success for Eagle programs with the girls’ soccer and baseball teams laying claim to titles in the Commonwealth Athletic Conference, and individually, sophomore Chloe Jones ran the 10th fastest time in the Division II ranks. Three MVRCS student-athletes will take their talents to the collegiate level: Daniela D’Alleva heads to UMass Lowell to play lacrosse; Joe Cirame is on his way to Lynn (Fla.) University for swimming; and Connor Cavanaugh goes to Schenectady, N.Y., to run at Union College.

  The 2020-2021 award recipients are as follows:

Boys Cross Country

MVP: Senior Connor Cavanaugh of Malden.

Most Improved: Junior Jacob Stover of Melrose.

Eagle: Junior Amine Jamouq of Melrose.

Girls Cross Country

MVP: Junior Ilona Beacom-Domotor of Melrose.

Most Improved: Sophomore Asal Bahrampouri of Malden.

Eagle: Senior Jessica Li of Malden.

Boys Soccer

MVP: Senior Miguel Lopes of Medford.

Most Improved: Junior Allen Bulic of Malden.

Eagle: Senior Adam Oukani of Malden.

Girls Soccer

MVP: Senior Kate Story of Melrose.

Most Improved: Sophomore Chloe Jones of Stoneham.

Eagle: Senior Sidra Alani of Malden.


MVP: Junior Ilona Beacom-Domotor of Melrose.

Most Improved: Eighth grade student Caroline Higonenq of Melrose.

Eagle: Junior Mairead St. Clair of Melrose.

Boys Swimming

MVP: Sophomore Jeremy Cheng of Melrose.

Most Improved: Sophomore Ramy Elaafer of Malden.

Eagle: Senior Joe Cirame of Saugus.

Girls Swimming

MVP: Junior Deanna Guo of Medford.

Most Improved: Freshman Amira Aboudou of Revere.

Eagle: Senior Angelina Casucci of Malden.


MVP: Junior Tyler Santoro of Saugus.

Most Improved: Sophomore Dan Harrington of Melrose.

Eagle: Senior Aaron Hickey of Medford.

Boys Lacrosse

MVP: Senior Matt Mullen of Stoneham.

Most Improved: Senior Miguel Lopes of Medford.

Eagle: Senior Amine Rih of Malden.

Girls Lacrosse

MVP: Senior Daniela D’Alleva of Peabody.

Most Improved: Junior Allison Veit of Wakefield.

Eagle: Senior Jaime Cochran of Malden.



MVP: Freshman Molly Hickey of Medford.

Most Improved: Freshman Anna Tracey of Melrose.

Eagle: Eighth grade student Lola Amendolare of Melrose.

Boys Track and Field

MVP: Junior John Bibilos.

Most Improved: Sophomore Nick Burke.

Eagle: Junior Ethan Zhao.


Girls Track and Field

MVP: Sophomore Chloe Jones of Stoneham.

Most Improved: Eighth grade student Lana Santos Albuquerque.

Eagle: Junior Rupa Raj.

Eagle Award: Senior Miguel Lopes of Medford.

Contact Advocate Newspapers