en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

Music for Mother’s Day

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Concert at The Saugus Iron Works on Sunday

  The Saugus Public Library is sponsoring another free Sunday concert this weekend (May 8), from 1 to 2:30 p.m. at the Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site. This concert will feature a trombone quartet from the New England Conservatory (NEC) – The Four Paper Clips is an NEC Honors Ensemble. In case of inclement weather, the concert will be moved indoors in the Community Room at the Library.

  The Four Paper Clips started performing as a chamber ensemble in September of 2021 at the NEC. The group consists of Jaehan Kim, Lukas Helsel, Noah Nichilo (tenor trombonists) and Changwon Park (bass trombone). Coached by the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO) bass trombonist, James Markey, they have worked together to create a diverse range of repertoire. Members of the quartet are previous winners and finalists of competitions, such as the International Trombone Festival, the American Trombone Workshop, Jeju and Swisstbone. Recently the ensemble was chosen to be in the NEC Honors Ensemble Program representing the school in a variety of upcoming community efforts and chamber performances.

  Here is some background information about the performers:

  • Jaehan Kim is an NEC student who studies under BSO Principal Trombone Toby Oft. Kim is a native of South Korea and graduated from Sunhwa Arts High School in Seoul, South Korea.
  • Lukas Helsel is an NEC student under Norman Bolter and James Markey. Having grown up in Pittsburgh, Lukas has worked closely with Mike Dorato and Jim Nova. Throughout high school, he was a part of the Three Rivers Young People’s Orchestra, Pittsburgh Youth Symphony Orchestra and the River City Youth Brass Band. Currently, he is a member of the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra.
  • Noah Nichilo is an NEC student who studies under BSO Principal Trombone Toby Oft. Coming from suburban Philadelphia, he has played section leader with the Philadelphia Youth Orchestra and partaken in the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association’s All-State Orchestra and the National Association for Music Education’s Honors Orchestra.
  • Changwon Park is a Master student at NEC, where he also finished a bachelor’s degree under BSO bass trombone James Markey. In his music career, Park has played with numerous professional orchestras in the world.

Play List

  Quartet No. 1 – Steven Verhelst

  Contrapuntus IX – J.S. Bach

  Andante Cantabile – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  First Trombone Quartet – Saski Apon

  Transonance – Marshall Gilkes

Editor’s Note: This concert is funded by a generous grant from the Saugus Cultural Council, a local arm of the Mass Cultural Council.

Contact Advocate Newspapers