en English
en Englishes Spanishpt Portuguesear Arabicht Haitian Creolezh-TW Chinese (Traditional)


Your Local Online News Source for Over 3 Decades

Music on May 8 at the Saugus Iron Works

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Another free Sunday Concert from the Saugus Public Library!

  The Saugus Public Library announced this week that it will be sponsoring another free Sunday concert next month. This one is set for May 8 from 1 to 2:30 p.m. at the Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site. This concert will feature a trombone quartet from the New England Conservatory (NEC) – The Four Paper Clips is an NEC Honors Ensemble.

  In case of inclement weather, the concert will be held in the Community Room at the Library.

  The Four Paper Clips started performing as a chamber ensemble in September of 2021 at the New England Conservatory of Music. The group consists of Jaehan Kim, Lukas Helsel, Noah Nichilo (tenor trombonists) and Changwon Park (bass trombone). Coached by the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO) bass trombonist, James Markey, they have worked together to create a diverse repertoire, and they are continuing to do so throughout the remainder of the fall season. Members of the quartet are previous winners and finalists of competitions such as the International Trombone Festival, the American Trombone Workshop, Jeju and Swisstbone. Recently the ensemble was chosen to be in the NEC Honors Ensemble Program representing the school in a variety of upcoming community efforts and chamber performances.

  Here is some background information about the performers:

  • Jaehan Kim is an NEC undergraduate student studying under Toby Oft, Principal Trombone of the BSO. He is a native of South Korea and graduated from Sunhwa Arts High School in Seoul, South Korea.
  • Lukas Helsel is an NEC student who studies under Norman Bolter and James Markey. Having grown up in Pittsburgh, Lukas has worked closely with Mike Dorato and Jim Nova. Throughout high school, he was a part of the Three Rivers Young People’s Orchestra, the Pittsburgh Youth Symphony Orchestra and the River City Youth Brass Band. Currently, he is a member of the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra.
  • Noah Nichilo is an NEC student studying under Toby Oft, Principal Trombone of the BSO. Coming from Pennsylvania, he has played section leader with the Philadelphia Youth Orchestra and partaken in the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association’s All-State Orchestra and the National Association for Music Education Honors Orchestra.
  • Changwon Park is an NEC Master student; he finished a bachelor’s degree at NEC under James Markey, Bass trombonist of the BSO. In his music career he has played with numerous professional orchestras in the world.

Play List

  Quartet No. 1 – Steven Verhelst

  Contrapuntus IX – J.S. Bach

  Andante Cantabile – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  First Trombone Quartet – Saski Apon

  Transonance – Marshall Gilkes

Editor’s Note: This concert is funded by a generous grant from the Saugus Cultural Council, a local arm of the Mass Cultural Council.

Contact Advocate Newspapers